South Beach School Kids Thank and Honor Soldiers

David Arthur Walters

Wounded Kids Greeting

South Pointe Elementary School Thank and Honor All Soldiers

 Wounded Cycles Sitting

ELEMENTARY SCHOOL CHILDREN THANK AND HONOR SOLDIERS

January 8, 2015

I was given cause to reflect on several wars when I passed by South Pointe Elementary School the day before my birthday this year and encountered schoolchildren greeting wounded soldiers kicking off a four-day Soldier’s Ride sponsored by the Wounded Warriors Project.

Wounded Fence

My memories of war are nowhere near as painful as the physical and psychological wounds suffered by our brave and courageous war veterans. Yet I am a product of World War II. My father and mother met at a theatre when her baby daughter reached over to pull on the brass buttons of his uniform. Her husband had been killed on a dam project.

Although I have never been on a battlefield, I often imagined I was there when I was on the elementary school playground playing at…

View original post 409 more words

Leave a Reply

