Taking Out My Trash

Photograph of Trash or Art included.

David Arthur Walters

TAKING OUT TRASH PIC

TAKING OUT MY TRASH
BY
DAVID ARTHUR WALTERS

What a writer should or should not throw away, that is the question. Dedicated to Humpty Dumpty

“Writing is knowing what to throw away,” is an old cliché. But I seldom throw anything away. If I trust my initial creative instinct, I know I can somehow salvage almost anything I originally produced, no matter how awful or boring it may seem after I have fallen out of love with it, perhaps because I grew tired of it, thought I could do better, or was just in a bad mood.

Would anyone end a marriage or throw a baby away on a fleeting feeling or whim? Many fine manuscripts have been tossed into the fire on a whim much regretted thereafter. I recall rooting around in the garbage on the curb for a manuscript I had deemed worthless the day before, as if my…

View original post 545 more words

Leave a Reply

