SHEKINAH

SHEKHINAH

Perhaps because the hour was late

The night bereft of all distractions

And only she was in it

There seemed a translucent

Feminine, warm flame

An aura in her and about her

Addressing me as to my soul

In an invading and encompassing

Modulated and affectionate voice

She seemed, at that fleet instance

Of our lives, extraordinarily beautiful

More so than any woman I had ever seen

In a fearful instant, an instant of awe

I perceived I was in His presence

Without doubt closer in that office

Than until the final day I would ever be

Astonished, I felt a tremor in our hands

Looked within her limpid eyes

And noticed she had been crying

R.B.C. Walters

Kansas City 2007

Leave a Reply

